The worst thing that has ever happened to you has happened. You have been arrested for sexual assault. You absolutely know that this is a case of mistaken identity. You know you are totally innocent. What do you do next? If you live in the Galveston suburbs in Galveston County you need to find a Dickinson sexual assault attorney.
Let’s look at what the state of Texas uses as a definition for sexual abuse. Texas no longer uses the term rape as part of a sexual abuse case. In today’s Texas penal code the term for non-consensual sexual intercourse is sexual assault. If the case involves close relatives it is a first degree felony. The punishment if convicted of this crime is between 5 and 99 years. There can also be a fine attached to conviction.
In Texas law there is also a provision for the sexual assault of a person under 17 years of age. There is no issue of consent in these cases. All cases dealing with people of that age are punishable. There are also cases that deal with aggravated sexual assault. They are prosecuted more strenuously and as a first degree felony.
Accusing someone of sexually assaulting another is a very serious situation. Sometimes in the heat of the moment a memory seems to get implanted in the victim’s brain and he or she accuses the wrong person. In America, people are innocent until proven guilty. If you are in this situation you need to find the very best defense attorney to help you. Please contact the law office of Mark Diaz and associates. As the best Dickinson Sexual Assault attorney they can help you defend yourself in court.